The 60th anniversary of the Korean Women’s Journalists Association… President Moon’s Congratulatory Address


The Korean Women’s Journalists Association held a ’60th Anniversary Ceremony’ at the Korea Press Center in Jung-gu, Seoul on the morning of the 22nd.

At today’s event, President Moon Jae-in’s congratulatory remarks were read by Park Soo-hyeon, senior presidential secretary for public communication.

In addition, Democratic Party presidential candidate Lee Jae-myung and Justice Party presidential candidate Shim Sang-jung also attended to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the founding.

To commemorate the 60th anniversary of the company’s founding today, a ceremony was held to commemorate the publication of the books ‘100 Years of Female Journalists in Korea’ and ‘Glass Shines More When it Breaks’, both of which show the past and present of female journalists.

‘100 Years of Female Journalists in Korea’, written by Jeong Jin-seok, an emeritus professor at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, contains the history of 100 years since Lee Gak-kyung, the first female journalist in Korea.

Starting with the establishment of the association on April 5, 1961, on ‘Glass Shines More When it Breaks’, in which 30 people participated as writers, the site of female reporters who worked hard to change Korean society for 60 years was recorded.

The Korean Women’s Journalists Association, which started as the ‘Yeo Journalists Club’ in 1961, has grown into a representative Korean media organization with over 1,500 members from 31 member companies.

(Photo=provided by the Korean Women’s Journalists Association, Yonhap News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.