Jeonbuk, the first K-League to win 5 consecutive victories, 9th most wins… Ulsan 10th Runner-up


Jeonbuk Hyundai, a professional soccer team, overcame Ulsan Hyundai’s last chase and built the feat of winning the first five consecutive K-League 1 titles and winning the most nine times.

Jeonbuk won 2-0 with Jeju United and Hanawon Q K-League 1 2021 Final A final 38th round held at Jeonju World Cup Stadium with consecutive goals from Han Gyo-won and Song Min-gyu in the second half.

Jeonbuk, which accumulated 76 points with 22 wins, 10 draws and 6 losses, defended the K-League 1 champion title by two points behind Ulsan (74 points, 21 wins, 11 draws and 6 losses), which defeated Daegu FC 2-0 on that day.

Jeonbuk, which achieved the first four consecutive victories in the K-League 1 history last season, has reaffirmed its status as the strongest by achieving five consecutive victories with the win this season.

In addition, we achieved the feat of winning the most 9 times in history (2009, 2011, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021).

On the other hand, Ulsan, which competed fiercely for the championship, was only runner-up for the third year in a row.

It also recorded the 10th runner-up in the history of the K-League (1988, 1991, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2011, 2013, 2019, 2020, 2021).

Kim Sang-sik, who took the helm of Jeonbuk ahead of this season, became the sixth manager to lead the team to victory in the year of his debut as the head coach of the first division of domestic professional football.

He also became the third soccer player to win the championship as a player, coach and manager, following Daegu President Jo Gwang-rae and Gangwon FC Manager Choi Yong-su.

Among them, coach Choi Yong-su and coach Kim Sang-sik are the only two footballers who have won the championship as a player, coach, and manager in one team.

Jeonbuk won 500 million won and Ulsan won 200 million won.

Jeonbuk, who could not score in the first half, scored the winning goal that Kyowon Han had been waiting for in the 9th minute of the second half.

In a corner kick situation, Choi Cheol-soon, who was outside the penalty area, made a bold header attempt, which Chang-geun Lee did not properly catch, and Kyo-won Han quickly grabbed the ball and made a 1-0 with a shot with his right foot from the right side of the goal.

Jeju left Jumin-gyu and Jerso, who had not shown any threatening moves since the early game, in the 20th minute of the second half, and Lee Jeong-moon and Javada were put in.

However, the second goal also came from Jeonbuk.

In the 28th minute of the second half, Mingyu Song finished the penetration pass that Kunimoto passed forward at once near the left half line with a right-footed shot, convincing the 13,902 fans who visited the home stadium to win.

It was Song Min-gyu’s third goal from Jeonbuk, who had been evaluated as poor after changing from Pohang to Jeonbuk in the summer transfer market.

In addition, Song Min-gyu scored double-digit goals for the second consecutive season following the 2020 season when he scored 10 goals.

Ulsan, who had a ‘championship competition’, could not laugh even after winning 2-0 thanks to Seol Young-woo, who scored one goal and one assist, and Oh Se-hun, who scored an additional goal in the final match against Daegu in front of home fans.

Ulsan broke the balance with Seol Young-woo’s goal in the 18th minute of the first half.

Seol Young-woo caught the ball from the left side of the opponent’s midfield to the back space behind the defense by Won Doo-jae, and Seol Young-woo caught the ball from the left inside the penalty area, faced keeper Choi Young-eun one-on-one, and calmly finished with his right foot.

It was Seol Young-woo’s ‘Self-Congratulatory Po’, who was born in 1998 and celebrated his 23rd birthday that day.

In the 22nd minute of the first half, Choi Young-eun hit Oh Se-hoon’s header following Lee Dong-jun’s cross, but the referee, who judged that the ball had already crossed the goal line, recognized it as a goal and seemed to run away one step further.

However, as Oh Se-hun was declared offside earlier, Ulsan’s goal was cancelled.

Oh Se-hoon washed away his disappointment with a header goal in extra time in the first half.

Seol Young-woo’s cross from the left side of the penalty area was headed by Oh Se-hun from the right side of the penalty area.

At the beginning of the second half, when Ulsan did not slow down the offensive and continued their hopes of winning a comeback victory, cheers erupted from the Daegu supporters’ seats, which were being dragged.

This is because it was confirmed that Jeonbuk Han Gyowon scored the first goal in Jeonju.

After Song Min-gyu’s additional goal was scored, the cheering seats in Daegu shook again.

Song Min-gyu (Photo = Yonhap News)Daegu Edgar was sent off for accumulating warnings for a rough tackle against Ulsan Kim Tae-hwan in the 31st minute of the second half, but it did not affect the final result of the season.

Daegu, who took third place after losing to Jeju Island, at least secured a place in the Asian Football Federation (AFC) Champions League playoffs next season.

Suwon FC won 2-0 with Suwon Samsung in the ‘Suwon Derby’ with Lee Young-jae’s opening goal in the 40th minute and Jung Jae-yong’s additional goal in the 9th minute of the second half.

Suwon FC, which succeeded in advancing to the Final A for the first time since its establishment, finished the season in 5th place, the best performance ever.

(Photo = Yonhap News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *